“A Day in the Life” – A Purple Hibiscus Diary Entry Series

Eugene – “Heathens Are Everywhere”

 

Wednesday 15th September, 2017                                                              

 Enugu

 

Today was, truly, a disheartening day for me. At first, everything seemed to be going well – not only had Jaja and Kambili been meeting my expectations in terms of their studies, but I received news that my new line of jams would soon be in production. However, God had a different plan for me, today. After breakfast, I ventured out to meet with my writers for The Standard. Although I took the usual route on my way there, I found that the road had been blocked. The corrupt police were not even the ones to blame, this time; instead, there was a heathen parade taking place! They danced and cried out to their false gods, making me sick to my stomach. I prayed and looked away, clutching my rosary, until I heard a knock on the hood of my vehicle. To my horror, I found that Brother Nnkawa, from church, bumped into my car while participating in this ungodly celebration! I would not have expected such foul behaviour from a man like him. I suppose this is a sign from God, telling me that there are still more people who must be saved. I must make sure I pray for these heathens, especially Brother Nnkawa.

 

Image result for nigerian igbo festival in enugu
The New Yam Festival of the Igbo People

Interested in Purple Hibiscus? Feel free to purchase the novel on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/Purple-Hibiscus-Chimamanda-Ngozi-Adichie/dp/1616202416


Disclaimer: All characters mentioned (i.e Eugene, Kambili, Jaja, Beatrice, and Aunty Ifeoma) are property of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. “A Day in the Life” Diary Entries are simply part of a class activity, which allows students to gain a better understanding and appreciation of Adichie’s characters through embodying and portraying them.

Leave a Reply

