“A DAY IN THE LIFE” – A PURPLE HIBISCUS DIARY ENTRY SERIES

Auntie Ifeoma – “Nwunye m”

Friday 10th June, 2017

 

On this fine day I found myself cleaning out the freezer, because of the consistent power outages. I couldn’t help but laugh when my dear Kambili thought that the meat was wasted, she has so much to learn. It is good to see how well Kambili and my Amaka are getting along, they have grown so close as they should be. It was a normal day all in all, Amaka and Kambili were out on the veranda cleaning the rice and the boys were out….. well it would have been considered a normal day if Beatrice hadn’t shown up out of nowhere. The girls had seen her arriving in the taxi and had rushed to greet her, I was not too far behind. I hugged her and led her into the living room, supporting her along the way. She looked tired, disorientated and oh so fragile. As she told us what had happened, I could barely rein in my anger and disgust. How could my brother do such a thing to his wife? I tried to keep her and the children here with me, but she would not here it. She spoke to Eugene even though I tried to avoid her doing that at least for tonight. When she came out and told us that, nwanne m nwoke, would be here tomorrow to pick her and the children up, I could barely believe it. It saddened me greatly to see how against the idea of leaving Eugene she was. As we went to bed I could help but continue to let these thoughts plague my mind. I hope she knows what she is doing. Be safe, Nwunye m.

Interested in Purple Hibiscus? Feel free to purchase the novel on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/Purple-Hibiscus-Chimamanda-Ngozi-Adichie/dp/1616202416

 


Disclaimer: All characters mentioned (i.e Eugene, Kambili, Jaja, Beatrice, and Aunty Ifeoma) are property of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. “A Day in the Life” Diary Entries are simply part of a class activity, which allows students to gain a better understanding and appreciation of Adichie’s characters through embodying and portraying them.

Leave a Reply

