“A DAY IN THE LIFE” – A PURPLE HIBISCUS DIARY ENTRY SERIES

Beatrice – “It won’t be long”

Wednesday 17th July, 2017

I miss my children dearly and I cannot keep myself from worrying about them. I know that Ifeoma will care for them. I know that in Nsukka they are safe. Far from their father, but still it is impossible to keep from worrying. The house feels empty without the both of them. I go into their rooms and miss seeing them there at their desks studying, but it is best this way. At least until everything is right. Eugene’s rashes are becoming bigger, they continue to spread throughout his body and he grows weaker as the days pass. He finds it difficult to stand for extended periods of time and tires quickly. Sisi and I watch him as the poison that I put into his tea continues to affect him. I can tell by the way he acts that it won’t be long now. Soon I will be able to keep my children and I safe. Soon we will be free. Soon…

Interested in Purple Hibiscus? Feel free to purchase the novel on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/Purple-Hibiscus-Chimamanda-Ngozi-Adichie/dp/1616202416

 


Disclaimer: All characters mentioned (i.e Eugene, Kambili, Jaja, Beatrice, and Aunty Ifeoma) are property of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. “A Day in the Life” Diary Entries are simply part of a class activity, which allows students to gain a better understanding and appreciation of Adichie’s characters through embodying and portraying them.

Leave a Reply

